Re: Pilegesh Questions
Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

May 21, 2012 06:03PM
I'm no expert, but I will present you Rambam’s opinion as best as I understand it:

1. Before Matan Torah any man or woman could “marry” by simple mutual consent. However, there was no binding contract or mutual obligations (no Kesubah). Likewise, the “marriage” could be dissolved by either party simply walking away from the relationship. (See Mishnah Torah, Kidusha, hilchos Ishus ch. 1, law 1)

2. After Matan Torah it became a positive obligation to marry a woman with Kidushin. (Ibid)

3. Before Matan Torah prostitution was allowed, but the Torah prohibits this activity as a negative commandment (punishable by lashes). According to Rambam (at least as some understand him) this prohibition only applies to relations that is not intended as a “marriage” relationship.

(According to Raavad the woman must be a prostitute that makes herself available to all men, and not someone simply having relations with one man. Rambam holds that even any intimacy outside of a relationship is prohibited as prostitution (znus).) (Ibid, law 4)

4. After Matan Torah this pre-Matan Torah marriage is called a Pilegesh—a marriage without Kiddushin or a Kesubah. It is a mutual “marriage” relationship with no formal or legally binding contract.

5. Only a king is permitted to have a Pilegesh. (Mishnah Torah, Shoftim, hilchos Melachim, ch. 4, law 4.) (Except a Jewish Maidservant marrying her master, or master’s son after Yiud.)

6. In the times of the Shoftim, however, many people took Pilagshim. This is in transgression of a positive commandment, but is not punishable (by lashes) because there is no negative prohibition.