Re: What are they doing with all that time?
Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

March 04, 2012 04:10AM
I have been debating whether I should respond to this query for a while, as a day school teacher I don't wish to speak for others and I certainly don't wish to create excuses. However, after viewing some of the comments on this thread I felt the need to explain "What are they doing with all that time?" from the perspective of a classroom teacher. I am using my own teaching experience in a Modern Orthodox Day school as an example and I imagine other teachers face similar challenges.

For starters, unlike a Yeshiva cheder school where children might spend an hour or so on Chumash six days a week, I get to spend forty three minute periods four times a week teaching Chumash. Actually, it is not a full forty three minutes because that includes the time we have for coming from recess. Thus, by the time everyone settles down, homework is checked etc, how much actual time is spent learning Chumash or related skills? Even if I get a half hour a day that amounts to two hours a week versus closer to six hours for the typical Yeshiva student.